Los Angeles 11:02
New York 14:02
London 19:02
Hong Kong 02:02
News | HR | Contact | E-Comm | CMM Login | +1 714 993 4200

Hard Work Pays Off

The 787 Dreamliner is Boeing’s most recent clean sheet design; it represents a shift toward composite structural material and electrical systems. A modern Environmental Control System (ECS) contributes to optimal cabin pressure which increases passenger comfort and reduces jetlag.

This ECS system is accessed through 3 large doors on the underside of the aircraft.  Totaling 23 latches across the three doors, the 787 is a significant opportunity for the entire latching industry. Totaling 23 latches across the three doors, the 787 is a significant opportunity for the entire latching industry. 

In April our Customer gave us the final approval to change the door design to allow a combination of Hartwell’s tool operated latch and channel latch. Hartwell is now the sole source supplier and our latches will be used on all 787 ECS doors starting this summer.  With annual aircraft production of 140 per year for the next 15 years or more, this equates to tens of thousands of latches over the remaining life of the aircraft.  

It didn’t happen overnight, but the implementation of the 787 ECS door latches is a significant step forward with our Customer and a testament to the dedication of the entire Hartwell team.  

May 2017

site by Beehive